Monday, September 17, 2012

Soundgarden reveals new album art for King Animal, their first album in 16 years.

Soundgarden is finally releasing new studio material after a 16 year hiatus which saw Chris Cornell joining the guys from Rage Against The Machine to form the band Audioslave, Matt Cameron drum for Pearl Jam, and Chris Cornell release an embarrasing album with Timbaland. It's good to finally hear new music from Chris, Kim and company. Their last studio album was 1996's multiplatinum Down On The Upside which had the hit singles, Dirty Noose, Blow Up the Outside World, Burden in My Hand, and Ty Cobb. Soundgarden did a few shows together in 2010 and have released two compilation albums since then (one is live, the other not). Buzz has been growing around a new Soundgarden album ever since they debuted their song Live To Rise from the Avengers soundtrack which was downloaded over 350,000 times in it's first week.

Their new album, entitled King Animal is set to be released on November 13th and it's newest single, appropriately titled Been Away Too Long hits digital retailers on September 27th. Chris Cornell tells Billboard that the album's sound would be diverse.

"I don't really know how to describe it musically," he said, "because typically with Soundgarden... every time we write a song we always take it for what it is and try to make it the most it can be. It's very diverse, I can tell you that."

Here is a trailer for the new album, and the tracklisting:
King Animal tracklist

1. Been Away Too Long
2. Non-State Actor
3. By Crooked Steps
4. A Thousand Days Before
5. Blood On The Valley Floor
6. Bones of Birds
7. Taree
8. Attrition
9. Black Saturday
10. Halfway There
11. Worse Dreams
12. Eyelid's Mouth
13. Rowing

No comments:

Post a Comment